Update: Check new design of our homepage!

Quality Assurance Certification

Quality Assurance Certification

The process of quality assurance helps in testing the products and services as per the desired standards and the needs of customers. The certifications for the same in relation to the software industry, organic food, and many other products are discussed in the following article.
CareerStint Staff
The activity or process that proves the suitability of a product for the intended purpose could be described as quality assurance. This process takes care of the quality of the products and ensures that customer requirements pertaining to the products are met. The certifications used to assess different products have different parameters, which should be understood thoroughly. Total quality management is vital for the survival and profitability of businesses nowadays.

Software Industry

ISO, CMMi, PCMM, etc., are some of the most sought-after quality certifications in the IT/ITES sector. The quality assurance procedures are implemented in software testing.

International Standards Organization (ISO)
It is a European standard used for quality assurance. The ISO 9000 systems make use of different documents or procedures, namely ISO 9001, ISO 9002, ISO 9003, etc. The ISO 9000 and ISO 9003 documents contain supporting guidelines. The ISO 9001 looks after the design, production, installation, and maintenance/servicing, while the ISO 9002 is used for the production and installation only. The final inspection is done with the help of the ISO 9003 model.

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMi)
Technically, CMMi is not a certification. The organization in question is actually appraised and awarded a maturity level rating on the scale of 1 - 5. This program acts as a guiding force in the improvement of the processes of an organization. The management of development, acquisition, and maintenance of the services and products of a company is also improved with the help of this program. A set of proven practices is placed in a structure to assess the process area capability and organizational maturity of a company. The priorities for improvement are established, and it is seen that these priorities are implemented properly with the help of CMMi.

People Capability Maturity Model (PCMM)
The PCMM model is similar to SW-CMM (Software Capability Maturity Model) in its approach. The objective of this model is to improve the software development capability of an organization by means of attracting, developing, motivating, organizing, and retaining the manpower or the required talent. The management and development of the workforce of a company is guided by the PCMM model. This framework makes use of the best current practices used in organizational and human resource development to achieve its objectives.

eServices Capability Model (eSCM)
The eSCM model serves the needs of the BPO/ITES industries. This model is used to assist the customers in measuring the service provider's capability. The measurement is needed for establishing and managing the outsourcing relationships, which improve continually.

BS 7799
It is a security standard that originated in the mid-nineties, and till the year 2000, it evolved into a model known as BS EN ISO17799. It is difficult to comply with the requirements/standards of this model since it covers the security issues comprehensively and contains the control requirements that are significant in number.

QAI Certification Program

The Quality Assurance International (QAI) is an agency, which awards the organic certification to the producers, private labelers, processors, retailers, distributors, and other 'links' involved in the production of organic food.

Food and Drug Administration

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) of the US awards quality assurance certification for the food products, which comply with the performance and safety standards. It certifies different types of products like the dietary supplements, drugs & vaccines, medical devices, animal drugs & food, cosmetic products, etc.

Canadian Standards Association (CSA) International

The various products certified under the CSA are building products, heating & cooling equipment, concrete products, home equipment, health care equipment, gas appliances, etc. Rigorous tests are conducted in order to award the certificates.

Thus, these initiatives help in developing the trust of customers in a particular product. The certificates awarded by various agencies also act as a motivational force for industries to maintain the required standards. The short account of various agencies awarding the certifications would help the concerned people in the industries.